Delta Sigma Theta Sorority, Inc. is an organization that was founded on Christian principles by 22 College educated women committed to the development of its members and a focus on public service in the Black community.  

On May 17, 1975, twelve (12) women signed a charter forming the Huntsville (TX) Alumnae Chapter.  The charter members consisted of Vernon Adams Broussard, Jurrell Gilliam, Frankie Gregg Grover, Minnie Hightower, Helen Groves King, Patricia Lowry, Judy Gilliam Lundy, Hattye Palmer Owens, Alice Myers Shields, Anne Ward Sigler, Maggie L. Smith and Bernice Grace Williams.

After years of being inactive, on November 15, 1997, fifteen (15) women came together to reactivate the chapter.   The charter was signed by Karol Wade Beard,  Pamela Carey, Judy Cox, Jurell Gilliam, Thomasine Golden, Herma Johnson, Helen King, Teresa Myers, Hattye Palmer Owens, Rissie Owens, Diane Patrick, Ava Spiller, Maggie L. Smith, Bernice  Grace Williams and Pamela Williams.

The Huntsville (TX) Alumnae Chapter renders public service to the community of Huntsville and surrounding areas under the Sorority’s Five -Point Programmatic Thrust – Economic Development, Educational Development, International Awareness and Involvement, Physical and Mental Health and Political Awareness and Involvement.